top of page

How I became interested in photography #16

Updated: Apr 25, 2022

Insight into how I developed an interest in becoming a photographer and perusing into further study


When growing up I was always asked by family or friends to photograph parties and events that they were holding. This sparked from an early interest starting off focusing on objects and landscapes. My interest in photography became stronger when it was an option at A levels and being able to learn and be in an environment of photographing as a lesson made me keener to educate myself. The passion for surrealist photography began due to the unique and peculiar ways an image can be distorted and portrayed through photomanipulation.


I became familiar with the art of surrealism the more I decided to manipulate my images creating meaning and thinking about the signs and semiotics within an image. During this time creating my own images of surrealism inspired by artists such as Man Ray, Tommy Ingberg, and Tsoku Maela.



I further explored the art of surrealism through fantasy surrealism creating work from the inspiration of artists Annie Leibovitz, Cornelia Gillmann, Adam Bird, Melvin Sokolosky, and Steve Brown. In my final year of A levels, I eventually moved away from Surrealism and focused on the technique of selective color whilst focusing my work heavily around the Manchester bee art due to the recent attack at the time of the study.


During the sixth form, we were told to complete our application forms for the university as part of our enterprise and employability task in the subject welsh baccalaureate which was mandatory in Wales at the time. I then reached out to Universities in my eyes as what I had seen as far away from home as possible because as a young teenager moving away from home always seemed to be something I wanted to do as I wanted to experience new places and have a new beginning. I then received an unconditional offer at the University of Huddersfield. Where I am now near graduating from a three-year course with a bachelor's Honours degree.


In my spare time I do both commissioned and personal work my personal work seems to follow an artistic approach to photography. Heavily portraying mental health and illnesses with paths of recovery. I have photographed weddings, engagement parties, and school and fundraising events. I could use this work in the future to photograph social and political issues within the world whilst traveling.


1 view0 comments
bottom of page