top of page

Post-graduate life choices #17

Updated: Apr 25, 2022

Deciding upon my life choices after University and if I plan on further pursuing photography


For me Traveling has always been something that I have wanted to do weather that be following my career pathway at the same time freelance photographing whilst traveling or generally just travelling the world and exploring different cultures and learning new ways of life. I would like to pursue this goal in life and potentially join a group of people or go on a self planned journey exploring new things and taking opportunities that come my way.


Another career path that has sparked interest is medical photography. I think the opportunity to deal with the strange and wonderful things that happen to our bodies and being able to be close and personal and photographing this journey whilst being in an environment where a bond can be formed between patient and photographic nurse. Hearing these interesting stories of how individuals have ended up in situations and watching their journey to recovery. This particular genre of photography will enable me to engage in a documentative approach. I feel like this could potentially be quiet challenging and would really push me to test my abilities. Linking to clinical/medical photography Forensic photography seems rather interesting and again is another career that will push me to educate and photograph in unique environments away from the norm.


What degree do I need to further my education within these areas?


Medical/clinical photographer

  • A degree in photography

  • A post graduate degree in Clinical photography

  • If a degree in photography is gained i can then apply for a post trainee clinical photographer role

Forensic Photographer

  • Degree in Forensic Science, Law enforcement, Criminology, Criminal Justice or Crime Scene Investigations

  • Certificate of International Association for Identification (IAI)

Working abroad

  • Influences skills of communication, problem solving, adaptability, and flexibility alongside time management.

  • The opportunity to gain a professional understanding of cultures.

  • Encourages independence


Class of 2022 The University Of Huddersfield


1 view0 comments
bottom of page