top of page

Rachel Brown #20

Racheal brown a photographic artist/ picture editor originally from Huddersfield now travelling the world exploring and experimenting with themes of fear, escapism and gender in society. Brown states that “photography has allowed me to spread my wings and observe the world as a stage.” Within her photographic practise she works with a range of props allowing her subjects of mixed races and ages to interact and perform how they wish through personal imagination. The majority of Browns work is created through hidden identity through styling so the subjects could express themselves without being known. Pieces such as “I want to be just like you” 2008 series show the opposition of childhood and adulthood which is portrayed through the dramatic theatrical lighting used when shooting. Brown also works for high end magazines as photography director for Harper’s Bazaar and Town and country. Racheal uses photography as a coping method for dyslexia.

During my time at university I myself have also collaborated with Brown during our group exhibition in final year. Brown collaborated with my group explaining our work and introducing us as individuals.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page